top of page
Community Impact
  • Puttin' on the Ritz
  • PCCF 20th Anniversary Celebration
  • Beechwood Park
  • Children's Literacy Fund
  • Funding Our Towns Forver
Stories of Impact
Youth Philanthropy
Volunteer Opportunities
Local Resources

2018 Lilly Community Scholar Announced

The Parke County Community Foundation has announced the results of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholar Award selection process. Rockville High School senior Brianna Newton has been awarded a four-year full tuition scholarship to any accredited Indiana college or university. Brianna will be Rockville High School’s last Lilly Scholar since the school will be consolidating next school year.

Brianna is the daughter of Darron Newton and Jill and Brett McMullen of Crawfordsville and Rockville. She plans to attend Purdue University to pursue a degree in Animal Science and Pre-Veterinary Medicine. Brianna is a member of the tennis team, National Honor Society, Interact Club, FCA, Hustling Hoosiers 4-H Club, and the Indiana Junior Beef Cattle Association. She is currently ranked 7th in her class with a 3.830 GPA.

Of the award, Newton stated, “This scholarship has been the greatest honor of my life; I cannot thank the foundation enough for this opportunity to live out my passion to be a veterinarian and give back to my parents and family for always encouraging me and leading me to where I am today.”

In addition to tuition, the Lilly Community Scholarship includes an annual stipend of $900 to cover the cost of required books, equipment and fees. The Lilly Endowment Community Scholar was nominated from numerous applications submitted. The Foundation utilizes a scholarship selection sub-committee comprised of individuals not associated in any other capacity with the Foundation. Finalists for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship are then forwarded to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for final selection. Independent Colleges of Indiana is a non-profit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree-granting, non-profit, private colleges and universities in the state and is the statewide administrator of the scholarship program.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, not-for-profit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

There were 143 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships awarded statewide.

Several dozen other seniors, and over 100 other current college students from Parke County, will share more than $200,000 in additional awards from the Parke County Community Foundation.

L-R: Dawn Mitchell (RHS Guidance Counselor), Brianna Newton, Dwight Ashely (RHS Principal)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page